SNAP Benefits {Food Stamps)

*

SNAP recipients will get the maximum amount for their household size (if they don't already) for
April and May. They can go to www.yourtexasbenefits.com to see the maximum monthly SNAP
amounts based on family size. The April amount will be added by Wednesday, April 15.
INTERVIEWS: Because of COVID-19, interviews are currently not required for applications or
renewals.

RENEWALS: SNAP, Medicaid and Healthy Texas Women benefit renewals that are due during the
pandemic will be renewed automatically. We will notify you by mail when it is time to renew
again. You do not need to call us.

If your client isn’t currently receiving SNAP benefits, please send them to the above website to

apply.

This connects people with the resources they need across Texas. They can dial 2-1-1 (option 6)
for information on COVID-19 and local community rescurces on health care, food, utilities,
housing and more.

They may also find the Local Mental Health Authority in their area by entering “Mental Health
Crisis,” along with their Zip code, in the search engine. They can also go

to www.211texas.org for information.

Other Resources provided by HHS

If your client needs further resources provided by HHS, please refer them
to https://hhs.texas.gov/services/mental-health-substance-use/mental-health-substance-use-
resources

Protection against eviction

if you are experiencing financial hardship due to the coronavirus, you will be granted
forbearance on your federally backed mortgage loan for up to 60 days, with the potential for up
to four 30-day extensions. Foreclosures may not begin for 60 days from Mar. 18, 2020.No fees,
penalties, or added interest may be charged on delayed payments.

if you are a landlord with a mortgage on a multifamily home you have similar protection that
allows a 30-day forbearance on payments and up to two 30-day extensions.

If you are a renter in a multifamily home with a federally backed mortgage loan, you may not be
evicted solely for failure to pay rent for a 6 months. You also may not be charged fees or
penalties for not paying rent.

Utility Assistance

Even though the state has passed a bill protecting Texans from utility shut-offs for the next 6
months, it does not help will utility assistance. However, if you or someone in your household
currently receive or are in the process of applying to receive unemployment benefits you may
apply for utility assistance at www.txcovid19erp.org. This website will walk you through the
application process to receive assistance with your electric bill. You can also contact your local
water/gas companies to see if they have any assistance programs available.




